We use cookies to provide some features and experiences in QOSHE

More information  .  Close
Aa Aa Aa
- A +

A bilateral friendship award

13 0 0
By Lee Sun-ho

The 19th Korea-America Friendship Night event took place at Walker Hall of the Grand Walker Hill Seoul on Nov. 24, 2021. The award ceremony, hosted by the Korea-America Association (KAA) and chaired by Dr. Choi Joong-kyung, was adjusted due to restrictions imposed by pandemic quarantine guidelines ― limiting the number of participants, keeping adequate social distancing, and wearing facemasks.

In the spotlight of this annual function was the unanimously-elected 19th Korea-America Friendship Award given to Dr. James T. Laney who served as the 16th United States Ambassador to the Republic of Korea from 1993 to 1996. Prior to taking up his diplomatic position in Korea, he had served as a renowned American educator at Emory University in Georgia: dean of the Candler School of Theology (1969-77) and consecutively its 17th President (1978-93).

He has had three sojourns in Korea over the years. His irrevocable ties to Korea date back to 1947, when he spent a number of years with the U.S. Army Counter-Intelligence........

© The Korea Times

Get it on Google Play